Bluz Security: advertising, connecting, claiming, and sendData()

I’m generally trying to wrap my head around Bluz communication and security at a low level. I’m new in the BLE world so I have many questions:

1. Out of the box, the BluzDK boots in advertising mode, periodically sending ADV_IND packets.
    – Can we control the periodicity and contents of these packages?

2. The App scans for devices, effectively just listening for Bluetooth advertising packets.
    – Does it send any Scan Requests? Is the BluzDK configured for any Scan Responses?

3. The user initiates a connection to the BluzDK.
    – It seems like a connection is established using the “Just Works” simple pairing method, can that be changed? Eg. requiring a pin.

4. Upon successful connection, the App requests all available Bluetooth services, which are
    Generic Access (0x1800):
    Device Name (0x2a00): BluzDK
    … other GAP characteristics.
    Generic Attribute (0x1801)
    Customized Service (871e0223-38ff-77b1-ed41-9fb3aa142db2):
    Characteristic1 (871e0224-38ff-77b1-ed41-9fb3aa142db2): read, notify - effectively RX
    Characteristic2 (871e0225-38ff-77b1-ed41-9fb3aa142db2): read, writeWithoutResponse - TX
    – Where can we change the GAP device name in the firmware?

5. The App then requests the BluzDK’s Particle name, Particle Id, and claim state.
    – Since these are not Characteristics, I assume they are communicated via the “RX”, “TX” Characteristics within the customized service.

6. If unclaimed, the App requests a claim code for the user’s account on Particle, and sends it to the device.
    – Or is the device connected to the Cloud without a claim code, then just claimed via the Particle API (i.e. POST to /devices with user scoped token)?

7. Once claimed, the App just acts as a Bluetooth to IP bridge, enabling CoAP communication with the Particle cloud.