Gateway shield - How to power it?

Dear all,

I am new to Bluz. I am using a particle electron for a project and I want to add low power devices for getting some data, report them to the particle and then publish them online. So I discovered Bluz!

Everything looks nice, but I have one question:

Until now I was using this nice shield to power my electron and connect it with sensors:
https://store.ncd.io/product/particle-electron-i2c-shield-screw-terminals-2-amp-power-supply/
Now, if I will use the gateway shield, what would you suggest to power the electron ( and the gateway shield)? I use wall power outlet. How would I connect the electron to the sensors?

Thank you!

Can you clarify a bit of the setup? You need to power an electron, some sensors, a Bluz Gateway Shield and… I suspect you will also need a BluzDK? Or do you intend to connect the gateway to the sensors?

I would keep the electron on the existing power shield and find alternate power for the BluzDK and the Gateway.
If you don’t need the IO pins of the gateway shield, or you don’t want to sacrifice a Photon, buy the USB Gateway. Plug that into a USB wall charger out of the way.
The Bluz can run on a coin cell for a long time, using a battery shield. Or…
You can use the Electron power shield from the Particle store, or the Photon battery shield from Sarkfun. Both will provide 3.3V for the BluzDK and come with a LiPo battery and charger. The Photon shield needs a little wiring first.
With any of these you will still need a USB wall charger, or other 5V source.
Whatever you decide on, double check that you don’t connect 5V directly to the BluzDK!!!
Or…
I just noticed the 2-Channel 1-Amp Relay Board from the Bluz store. You will be able to connect some sensors to this board. I am not sure how/if it powers the BluzDK.
You might have already found the store for Bluz, but here it is again: https://bluz.io/store/
BTW: The Gateway Shield is out of stock!

Pescatore

Dear Pescatore,

Thank you for your help!