HINT: How to gain stability and save battery power!

This draft is intended for the average hacker, who may not have the benefit of a Computer Science degree behind them … and is written by one of similar ilk. Comments and criticism welcomed!

“Now, I’m no expert. But …” – Someone famous, for those very words!

BluzDK is Special

Battery life is everything

BluzDK differs from Particle’s Photon, SparkCore etc in an important way. It does not have built-in multitasking abilities – and in fact if it did, it would not be so light on our batteries – perhaps its primary goal!

The upshot of this is that we need to take care that the setup() or loop() functions never block – certainly not for more than a very short while. If we do block, BluzDK wouldn’t be able to process cloud events, such as OTA updates, and would consume a LOT more power!

A, “blocking” function is simply one that hogs CPU clocks by not returning to its caller as swiftly as possible. Something like …

while(true) { /* do stuff forever */ }

The above example will block forever! Even blocking for a small amount of time can delay cloud events being processed, so a delay(30000) would mean no Particle.function calls can happen for 30 seconds.

For example, the following pseudo code could easily prevent BluzDK from being able to process cloud events for too long, meaning you can’t OTA update the board or check Particle.variables or any other cloud functionality while this is happening:

void main() {
    while (somethingTrueForTooLongTime) { 
        /* sit in this loop for a too long a time, just waiting for something */
    }
}

But wait!

Isn’t waiting an unknown and often lengthy time for something just exactly what we almost always want to do? Yup!

So HOW then?