Only allow authorized devices to connect to Bluz DK

Hi,

I am new to BLE and Bluz. I want to make sure only authorized BT devices can connect to Bluz, what’s the best/most secure way of making sure only the right BT device (phone) can connect to Bluz DK?
Any info is appreciated.

Thank you!

Are you doing this with local communication? Or with the cloud back-end?

This is a little tricky, bluz was sort of designed to be open where any BLE device can connect to it and allow it to connect to the cloud. The reason is that the device itself handles it’s own security directly, the gateway can’t see the traffic passing through it.

So any device can connect. There is no BLE link security enabled on bluz, and it wouldn’t help much anyway as BLE link security has proven to be insecure.

Now, you can do things after the connection to ensure that the “correct” device is connected. For example, you can send down some data to bluz, or even go as far as doing some encryption handshake. This would be far more secure than any BLE link security, but you can trade off security for ease based on your application. For example, it can be as simple as sending “Hello” to bluz when it connects and bluz would listen for that before it would do whatever it is you want it to do. If it doesn’t get the “Hello”, it just disconnects.

That is easy, but not secure, so it depends on your use case.

I do have a cloud backend running, which will have a passcode that can be compared to whatever the BT device is sending. I just thought there might be a way of having an additional security level (knowing that BLE access can be easily hacked) Do you have a link that shows how un-secure the BLE link security is?
Can I set the Bluz DK bluetooth to not visible?

Are there any examples out there for both, simply sending a string and the encryption handshake?

thank you!

Here is a paper on the BLE security issues: