[SOLVED] Can not Particle publish through bluz dk

Hi,

I am new to the bluz world and trying to get a hand on things. I am using a very simple code to do particle publish on the particle console. I am using gateway shield with a photon as a gateway. I am able to successfully flash the code but after flashing the code when the device comes back online it does not publish anything. Am I missing anything here?

#include "application.h"
SYSTEM_MODE(MANUAL);

long currentMilli = 0;

void setup() {
    Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
    if(millis()-currentMilli > 3000)            //publish every 3 second
 {
    Particle.publish("Test Publish", "Hello World");
    currentMilli = millis();
 }
}

Welcome!

For one, you don’t need the Serial.begin() command, so you can just remove that. It will consume a good amount of current.

More importantly, you shouldn’t use the SYSTEM_MODE(MANUAL); call. This will put bluz into manual mode where it does not connect to the cloud. If it isn’t connected to the cloud, it can’t publish. Also, you can’t flash new code, so you will need to reset the device before you can flash code again.

After you flashed this code, is the RGB LED blinking white? If so, you are in local mode. The best way out is a factory reset: http://docs.bluz.io/tutorials/bootloader/#performing-a-factory-reset

Once that is done, you can flash the code with the above two lines removed and it should work.

Hi Eric,

The LED is not blinking white. After flashing the code the LED blinks green and then cyan. I removed these two lines and flashed the code again and it still doesn’t publish anything.

Can I ask how you are verifying whether it is publishing or not?

I tried the code and it works as expected. I am verifying the published events through the Particle dashboard.

I am verifying it through the particle console as well. I can see my device getting online and offline as events there but not the events I am publishing.